Federation of Law Societies of Canada National Committee on Accreditation

The NCA assesses your legal knowledge based on your legal education, licensure and bar certification. The NCA also considers the nature of the legal system in the jurisdiction where you completed your training, and that jurisdiction's relationship to the English legal tradition of common law. Each jurisdiction is designated as one of the following:

- "Common Law Jurisdiction" means it has a common law legal tradition.
- "Mixed Law Jurisdiction" means it has either a mixed common law and civil law legal tradition or a legal tradition that has substantial common law content.
- "Non-Common Law Jurisdiction" means it does not substantially include the common law in its legal tradition.

Consult the NCA's <u>Assessment Policy</u> to learn how an applicant's qualifications are assessed under each of these three designations.

The NCA has the authority to designate a jurisdiction for the purposes of the Assessment Policy. In doing so, the NCA is guided by the degree to which the common law influences the jurisdiction's legal system, and information about the jurisdiction's legal tradition(s) and institutions (i.e., law schools, regulatory/licensing bodies). When a jurisdiction has a legal tradition in addition to common law, and the common law has a high degree of influence on the legal system, the jurisdiction may be categorized as a "Common Law Jurisdiction".

Below are lists of jurisdictions designated as Common Law and Mixed Law. The lists do not represent all jurisdictions in the world. Non-Common Law jurisdictions are not listed. Nor are jurisdictions from which the NCA has not previously assessed an application. If your jurisdiction is not listed, contact the nca@flsc.ca to confirm its status.

List of Common Law Jurisdictions (as of June 1, 2021)

The following are the Common Law Jurisdictions for the purposes of an NCA assessment:

- Australia
- Bahamas
- Barbados
- Belize
- Bermuda
- Canada (except for Quebec. See mixed law for details.)
- Cayman Islands
- England
- Fiji
- Ghana
- Hong Kong
- India
- Ireland

- Jamaica
- Kenya
- New Zealand
- Nigeria
- Northern Ireland
- Pakistan
- Singapore
- Tanzania
- Trinidad and Tobago
- Uganda
- United States (except for Louisiana, see Mixed Law list below)
- Wales

List of Mixed Law Jurisdictions (as of June 1, 2021)

The following are jurisdictions with mixed common law and civil law legal traditions or that have a legal tradition that includes substantial common law, for the purposes of an NCA assessment:

- Bangladesh
- Botswana
- Cameroon (bijural)
- Cyprus
- Guyana
- Israel
- Liberia
- Louisiana (USA)
- Malaysia
- Malta
- Mauritius
- Nepal
- Philippines
- Qatar
- Quebec (Canada)
- Scotland
- Sierra Leone
- South Africa
- Sri Lanka
- St. Lucia
- Sudan
- Zambia
- Zimbabwe